Jacksonville Athletics Hall of Fame Nominations Open

Jacksonville Athletics Hall of Fame Nominations Open

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – The Jacksonville University Athletic Department announced on Monday that the time has come to submit nominations for the next class of Hall of Fame inductees; to be announced later on this fall and honored at a special ceremony in the spring.

The last Hall of Fame class was announced in 2016 and featured Stine Kloster (women's soccer), Josh McGregor (football, Daniel Murphy (baseball) and Ben Smith (men's basketball).

All are invited to send in nominations beginning Monday (Oct. 8). The nomination period will close Oct. 31, and this year's class will be elected in November. The induction ceremony will be held in early spring.

Nominations can be submitted in the following categories: athletes, coaches, teams, administration and staff, and an "other'' category to honor those who have given service to the athletic program. Up to five candidates will be voted upon during each election cycle.

The voting committee will be composed of the Athletic Director (non-voting), two Hall of Fame members, a male sport head coach, a female coach head sport, a designate from the Jacksonville Athletic Communications Department and two Board of Trustee members (from the Athletic Committee).

Nominations should be sent to Associate Athletic Director for Athletic Communications Matt Moretti III at mmorett@ju.edu

Criteria for nominations can be found here.

HOF Voting Committee
Alex Ricker-Gilbert, Director of Athletics (Chair/Non-voting) 
Matt Moretti III, Associate AD/Athletic Communications
Ron Grigg, Director of Cross Country and Track and Field
Mike Blackburn, Head Men's Golf Coach
Natasha Harvey, HOF Class of 2014
Marit Foss, HOF Class of 2012
Jamie Shelton, Athletics Board of Trustees Committee Member
Ken Babby, Athletics Board of Trustees Committee Member