Volleyball's Carrie Bosworth Earns A-Sun All-Conference Honors

Nov. 13, 2001

JU senior setter Carrie Bosworth was voted to the Atlantic Sun Volleyball All-conference second team, the league office announced on Tuesday. Bosworth has been selected as a member of the A-Sun second team for the second consecutive year after leading JU to a 6-4 conference record and a berth in the 2001 A-Sun conference championship.

Bosworth had a solid season, leading the Dolphins and ranking in the league's top-10 in assists, while also ranking among the top five in the A-Sun in service aces. Bosworth holds JU's all-time records for assists in a single season, which she set in 2000, and assists per game in a season. She is third on the Dolphins' all-time assists list with 3,084.

The Dolphins finished the A-Sun regular season as the fifth-place team and will face #4 Florida Atlantic in the first round of the conference tournament on Friday, Nov. 16 at 10:00 a.m.

A-Sun PLAYER-OF-THE-YEAR: Anna Popenko, Georgia State
A-Sun COACH-OF-THE-YEAR: Dr. Richard Leonard, Georgia State
A-Sun FRESHMAN-OF-THE-YEAR: Katie Plummer, Mercer, April DeCoste, Georgia State

   2001 All-Conference First Team			 2001 All-Conference Second Team
Name 				School			Name 			School
Piper Morgan 			UCF			Gracie Heim 		FAU
Leyre Santaella Sante		UCF			Randi van Dam 		GSU
Anna Popenko 		        GSU			Carrie Bosworth 	JU
Molly Sapp 			GSU			Abby Jenkins 		Cam
Whitney Miller 		        Sam			Jenny Frank 		UCF
Erica vanHootegem 		TSU			Shelly Ouldhouse 	Sam
							Kara Lewis		Cam