Dolphins Release 2018 Baseball Schedule

Dolphins Release 2018 Baseball Schedule

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – The Jacksonville University baseball team has announced its 2018 schedule that includes a strong non-conference slate, trips to Gainesville, Tallahassee, and St. Louis, and 30 home games at John Sessions Stadium, featuring West Virginia, Florida State, Rhode Island, and Richmond.

"We look forward to the challenges that the 2018 schedule presents. We will be tested early and often against the best teams in the country," said Head Coach Chris Hayes. "Our non-conference schedule will get us ready for conference play with eight games against Power 5 conference teams and 14 games against 2017 NCAA tourney teams."

The 2018 season opens with a three-game homestand against West Virginia. This is the first time the Mountaineers have visited John Sessions Stadium. Two days later, the Dolphins will play at Bethune-Cookman, then hit the road again the following weekend to play at Georgia State. A home game against Florida State will close out February. All told, Jacksonville will face 14 non-conference opponents, including two road games at McKethan Stadium, the home of the 2017 College World Series champs, the University of Florida.

ASUN Conference play opens March 29 with a three-game River City Rumble against crosstown rival University of North Florida at Sessions. Games against Florida A&M and at Florida State will be sandwiched in as mid-week games, then the Dolphins will return to ASUN play with their first conference road trip of 2018 at Lipscomb. Reigning ASUN tournament champs FGCU will come to town from April 13-15, and NJIT closes out April with a three-game home stand, April 27-29. Games at Stetson and at USC Upstate to open the final month of the regular season will provide testing grounds for the Dolphins' postseason readiness, and a three-game homestand against Kennesaw State will close the regular season May 17-19.

In between each of these ASUN weekend series the Dolphins will play mid-week games against Florida A&M, Florida State, Florida, Saint Louis, Bethune-Cookman, and UCF.

"With 22 games against teams from Florida and 26 road games, we will be prepared and ready for the post-season come late May and June," said Hayes.

The ASUN Conference tournament will take place May 23-26 at North Florida's Harmon Stadium in Jacksonville. The top six teams in the regular season standings will compete in the four-day, double-elimination series.