Jacksonville Picked Third In PFL Coaches’ Poll

Jacksonville Picked Third In PFL Coaches’ Poll

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. -- The Pioneer Football League announced the 2013 Preseason Coaches' Poll with  Jacksonville University being picked third in a preseason vote of the league's coaches.

The Dolphins received two-first place votes and a total of 99 points. San Diego, the two-time defending PFL championships received five of a possible 12 first-place votes and 111 of a maximum 121 points as coaches were not allowed to vote for their own team in the poll. Butler was ranked second by one point after receiving four first-place votes. Drake tied Jacksonville with 99 points, receiving first-place vote.

The upcoming 2013 season marks the 21st year for the Pioneer Football League – the nation's only non-scholarship, football-only NCAA Football Championship Subdivision conference. The league expands to 12 members for the upcoming campaign, Mercer and Stetson restarting their football programs and joining the league. In addition, the league's regular-season champion will receive an automatic bid into the now 24-team 2013 NCAA Division I Football Championship

Jacksonville finished 5-3 and tied for fourth last season, each of its three losses coming to a league co-champion. Head coach Kerwin Bell looks forward to his seventh season as the Dolphins return each of their top three wideouts, including junior D'Andre Randle who caught six touchdown passes last season. Senior defensive lineman Juan Pimienta returns after posting eight sacks last season, fifth among PFL pass rushers, and he will be joined by senior defensive back Jordan Dewhirst (57 tackles) to anchor the JU defense.

Pioneer Football League 2013 Preseason Coaches' Poll
1. San Diego (5) 111
2. Butler (4) 110
3. Jacksonville (2) 99
Drake (1) 99
5. Dayton 85
6. Marist 67
7. Morehead State 65
8. Campbell 49
9. Davidson 42
10. Valparaiso 32
11. Mercer 20
12. Stetson 13
First-place votes in parentheses.
11 points awarded for a first-place vote, with one point less for each succeeding place. (Maximum score = 121)
Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own team.