MLAX Trio Earn College Crosse All-Freshman Team Honors

Dixon Smith, Jack Dolan, and Jeremy Winston named to SB Nation/College Crosse All_Freshman Team

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – After a record-setting year for Jacksonville University men's lacrosse, a trio of Dolphins were named to the SB Nation College Crosse 2018 All-Freshmen Teams, as announced Monday.

Defenseman Dixon Smith was named to the First Team, short-stick defensive midfielder Jack Dolan was named to the Second Team, and midfielder Jeremy Winston was named to the Third Team.

Already establishing himself as one of the nation's top defenders, Smith earned his first career Southern Conference Defensive Player of the Week honor after he held Ohio State's All-American attackman Tre Leclaire scoreless for over 59 minutes in the 2018 Moe's Lacrosse Classic. The Dallas, Texas native wreaked havoc on opposing offenses and caused a team-high 26 turnovers – good for second-most in a single season at JU and tied for seventh all-time – to finish the season ranked 16th in the nation with 1.60 caused turnovers per game. Additionally, Smith earned Second Team All-SoCon and SoCon All-Freshmen Team recognition following the season and was named a captain for the upcoming 2019 season.

Hailing from Columbus, Ohio, Dolan saw action in all 15 games for the Dolphins, handed out three assists, and caused seven turnovers. His 25 ground balls were fifth on the team and second for freshmen just behind Smith. In the Dolphins' final four games, Dolan totaled 10 ground balls, a pair of caused turnovers, and dished a helper in Jacksonville's first-ever appearance in the Southern Conference Tournament Championship.

With a point in all but one game on the year, Winston immediately made an impact on the Dolphins' offense. The Dallas, Texas native finished the year tied for third on the team with 30 points and fourth on the team with 22 goals, and joined Smith on the SoCon All-Freshman Team. With multiple points in seven games, Winston turned heads with a notable five-goal performance against then-No. 4 Ohio State in the 2018 Moe's Lacrosse Classic, for which he earned SoCon Offensive Player of the Week honors. He totaled six ground balls and caused two turnovers on the year, and finished the season with six points in the Dolphins' final two games in the SoCon Tournament.

The trio helped the Dolphins to an 8-7 record – the team's first winning season since 2013 – and their first-ever appearance in the SoCon Tournament Championship.

To read the full release from College Crosse, visit

2018 College Crosse All-Freshman Teams

First Team

Position Name School
Attack Tehoka Nanticoke Albany
Attack Chris Gray Boston University
Attack Asher Nolting High Point
Midfield Jonathan Donville Cornell
Midfield Bubba Fairman Maryland
Midfield Matt Moore Virginia
Defense Dixon Smith Jacksonville
Defense Arden Cohen Notre Dame
Defense Chris Fake Yale
FOGO Justin Inacio Ohio State
LSM Will Rock Virginia
SSDM John Fox Virginia
Goalie Mike Adler Saint Joseph's

Second Team

Position Name School
Attack Joe Robertson Duke
Attack Logan Wisnauskas Maryland
Attack Chris Connolly UMass
Midfield Jackson Reid Ohio State
Midfield Chris Brown Princeton
Midfield Mitch Savoca Richmond
Defense Gibson Smith Georgetown
Defense George Baughan Princeton
Defense Kyle Walsh VMI
FOGO Justin Shockey Maryland
LSM Teddy Leggett Lehigh
SSDM Jack Dolan Jacksonville
Goalie Johnny Hulsman Bellarmine

Third Team

Position Name School
Attack Marc O'Rourke Bryant
Attack Jake Tomsik Quinnipiac
Attack Keegan Khan Villanova
Midfield Ryan Archer Hobart
Midfield Jeremy Winston Jacksonville
Midfield Corson Kealey Robert Morris
Defense Dom Doria Cornell
Defense Chris Hervada Monmouth
Defense Owen Prybylski Villanova
FOGO Sam Stephan Mount St. Mary's
LSM Andrew Song Princeton
SSDM Charlie Olmert Harvard
Goalie Noah Lode Monmouth

Honorable Mention

Position Name School
Attack Mike Hawkins Colgate
Attack Ryan Lanchbury Richmond
Attack Ian Laviano Virginia
Attack Kevin Lindley Loyola (Md.)
Attack Kevin Mack Michigan
Attack Aidan Olmstead Loyola (Md.)
Midfield Colin Crowley Villanova
Midfield Connor DeSimone Johns Hopkins
Midfield Tucker Dordevic Syracuse
Midfield Patrick Kaschalk Stony Brook
Midfield Evan McGreen Providence
Midfield Nakeie Montgomery Duke
Defense Kyle Kology Virginia
Defense Eric Lane VMI
Defense Bryan McIntosh Mount St. Mary's
Defense Andrew McKenna Navy
Defense Jason Reynolds Richmond
FOGO Michael Autry Bellarmine
FOGO Sean Christman Boston University
FOGO Connor Cronin Michigan
FOGO Steven Cuccurullo Harvard
FOGO Joe Stein Duke
LSM Bryant Boswell Bucknell
LSM Jeff Durden Navy
LSM Matt Hughes Mercer
LSM Brett Kennedy Syracuse
LSM Clayton Krol High Point
LSM Koby Smith Towson
SSDM Alex Burgmaster Albany
SSDM Michael Chiaramonte Boston University
SSDM Colin Clothier High Point
SSDM Spencer Decker Vermont
SSDM Roman Puglise Maryland
Goalie Shane Brennan Towson
Goalie Tommy Linger UMBC
Goalie Matt Schmidt Notre Dame
Goalie Logan Shamblin Detroit Mercy
Goalie James Spence Lehigh
Goalie Jack Starr Yale