Forbes Named Program's First-Ever USILA Scholar All-American

Hunter Forbes earned JU Men's Lacrosse first-ever USILA Scholar All-American honor

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – After an outstanding senior season for Jacksonville University men's lacrosse, Hunter Forbes continued to make program history as the first Dolphin to be named a United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) Scholar All-American, as announced Monday morning by USILA.

Setting a new standard both on the field and in the classroom, Forbes maintained a 3.75 cumulative GPA while he earned his masters of business administration and worked at Black Knight Financial during the season. He was also one of three Jacksonville players to be drafted to Major League Lacrosse (MLL) and was the highest Dolphin selected as the 40th overall pick by the Atlanta Blaze.

In 1989, the USILA Scholar All-America Program was established to recognize student-athletes from USILA member institutions who have distinguished themselves academically, athletically and as citizens of their communities. The USILA Selection Committee selects an overall team representing Division I, II and III. The Scholar All-Americas are recognized at the annual Lacrosse All-America Banquet.

In order to be considered for the honor, a Scholar All-American must be nominated by his coach and be a student with a senior year academic standing and a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 (4.0 scale). He will have behaved in a manner that has brought credit to himself, his institution, and to college lacrosse both on and off the field. He must also be an All-American, a member of a North/South team, or an outstanding league or conference player. Being a member of the North/South team and/or earning all-conference honors does not guarantee inclusion on the list. Each Individual is evaluated on a case-by-case basis by the Scholar AA committee.

The 2018 Southern Conference Defensive Player of the Year, Forbes set numerous records in his final season as a Dolphin and ended his career as the program and SoCon's all-time leader in ground balls (308), ground balls per game (7.00), faceoffs won (588), and faceoff win percentage (.611).

During the 2018 season alone, he topped the Dolphins' single-season list in ground balls (159), ground balls per game (10.60), faceoffs won (257), and faceoff win percentage (.702) – all of which are league records.

A native of Woodstock, Ga., he also set single-game records with 17 ground balls against Mercer on March 17, and holds eight of the program's top 12 single-game performances in face off wins, including a program-best 23 against Detroit-Mercy on Feb. 20.

Additionally, Forbes finished the season with the third-best face off win percentage in the nation (.703) behind NCAA career leader Trevor Baptiste from Denver and NCAA single-season leader TD Ierlan from Albany.

Among the 48 players who earned the distinction, five were from institutions in the Southern Conference – the most since 2016 when three SoCon student-athletes were named to the list.

For the full release from USILA, visit

2018 USILA Division I Scholar All-Americans
Nicholas Hruby, Air Force
Kevin Fahey, Bellarmine
Jack Wilson, Boston University
Stephen Hudak, Brown
Will Sands, Bucknell
Sean O'Brien, Bucknell
Connor Kearnan, Canisius
Jake Pulver, Cornell
Jordan Dowiak, Cornell
Jack Korzelius, Dartmouth
Justin Guterding, Duke
Will Fox, Fairfield
Ryan Hursey, Georgetown
Robert Shaw, Harvard
Keegan O'Connor, High Point
Dylan Alderman, Hofstra
Hunter Forbes, Jacksonville
Shack Stanwick, Johns Hopkins
Foster Huggins, Loyola (Md.)
Brian Begley, Loyola (Md.)
Gannon Morrison, Marist
Brian Corrigan, Marist
Cole Blazer, Marquette
John Sexton, Notre Dame
Austin Sims, Princeton
Tyler Blaisdell, Princeton
Michael Rexrode, Rutgers
Christina Mazzone, Rutgers
Matthew Caracappa, Sacred Heart
Chris Blewitt, Saint Joseph's
Austin Smith, Saint Joseph's
Mike Rastivo, Saint Joseph's
Dom Madonna, Syracuse
Ben Randall, Ohio State
Erik Evans, Ohio State
Kyle McClancy, Albany
Connor Fields, Albany
Troy Reh, Albany
Trevor Baptiste, Denver
Brent Noseworthy, Michigan
Austin Cates, Richmond
Scott Hooper, Virginia
Christian Cuccinello, Villanova
Jason Alessi, Yale
Chris Keating, Yale
Conor Mackie, Yale
Ben Reeves, Yale
Tyler Warner, Yale