Dolphins Welcome Wolverines in 2018 Opener

Opening draw for WLAX

Jacksonville University (0-0) vs. Michigan (0-1)
DATE: Sunday, Feb. 11
TIME: Noon
SITE: D.B. Milne Field – Jacksonville, Fla.
LIVE STATS: Jacksonville
LIVE VIDEO: ESPN3 (Marty Pullman and Hannah Wilcox)

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – Jacksonville University women's lacrosse opens its ninth season in program history Sunday, Feb. 11 when Michigan visits D.B. Milne Field for opening draw at noon.

Sunday's contest marks the second time the Dolphins have squared up with the Wolverines, and the first time since the teams' inaugural meeting in 2014.

Setting the Scene

  • The Dolphins enter their ninth season in program history.
  • Jacksonville finished the 2017 season with a 14-6 overall record.
  • JU went 9-1 against ASUN Conference opponents to earn a share of the ASUN Regular Season title for the fifth-straight season.
  • For the fourth time in five years, the Dolphins won the ASUN Tournament Championship, making its fourth appearance in the NCAA Tournament where they ultimately fell to Southern California in the first round.
  • Seven seniors return to the roster for the Dolphins, including Australian Women's National Team member and ASUN Conference Preseason Player of the Year Ashtyn Hiron.
  • The Dolphins also added 11 freshmen and a pair of transfers in Chloe Harris (Louisville) and Emily Poelma (James Madison).
  • The Dolphins were selected second in the ASUN Preseason Coaches' Poll.

We Got Some Really Big Rings

  • The Dolphins have won either outright or a share of the ASUN Conference Regular Season title in each of their five years in the league since joining in 2013.
  • In their five years in the conference, Jacksonville has also been crowned ASUN Tournament Champions four times – 2013, 2014, 2015, and most recently in 2017.
  • Prior to joining the ASUN, the Dolphins were members of the National Lacrosse Conference (NLC).
  • With a perfect 7-0 record against NLC opponents in 2011, Jacksonville – in just its second season – was crowned NLC Regular Season Champions.
  • The following season, Jacksonville won the NLC Tournament.
  • In total, the Dolphins have won 11 league championships in their nine seasons of program history: six regular season titles (5 ASUN, 1 NLC) and five tournament titles (4 ASUN, 1 NLC).

Scouting Michigan

Michigan is 0-1 in the young 2018 season after falling to No. 17 Colorado two days ago, 20-10. The Buffaloes hung 10 unanswered goals on the Wolverines starting at the 24:09 mark in the second half.

Lilly Grass and Adriana Pendino each recorded a hat trick to lead the Wolverines, while Molly Garrett won seven draws. Keeper Alli Kothari recorded 10 saves in the loss.  

Series History vs. the Wolverines

Jacksonville and Michigan have met just once before, back in the 2014 season. The Dolphins sent the Wolverines back to Ann Arbor with a 15-7 loss.

Up Next

The Dolphins welcome Notre Dame to D.B. Milne Field next Saturday, Feb. 17. Opening draw is slated for 1 p.m.