Bassett and Sierra Nominated for A-Sun Preseason Awards

Bassett and Sierra Nominated for A-Sun Preseason Awards

MACON, Ga. - The Atlantic Sun Conference wants to hear the fan voice for the 2014 Preseason Women's Soccer Awards. Go to its Facebook Page to vote.

Fans can vote for the Preseason Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year and Goalkeeper of the Year. They took the top vote getters from the A-Sun Coaches Preseason Ballots and put the decision up to the fans.

The winners of the fan polls will be included in the Preseason All-Conference Release on Thursday, August 7th. The deadline to vote is Thursday, August 7th at noon ET so make sure to get your votes in.

Kaitlyn Bassett enters her senior season as one of the keys to Jacksonville's attack. The forward from Littleton, Colo. scored 13 goals last season and added four assists for a team-leading 30 points. She ended the 2013 season with two A-Sun Player of the Week awards, as an All-Atlantic Sun First Team selection, and as a member of the All-Atlantic Sun Tournament Team.

Sarah Sierra notched consecutive shutouts in the Atlantic Sun Tournament to earn the title of Tournament MVP. The redshirt senior from Madera, Calif. was also the Atlantic Sun Defensive Player of the Week on September 9 and made 19 starts in goal for the Dolphins, ending the season with an 11-8-1 record.

To vote, just "Like" the photo that you think deserves the award.

Here are the nominees for Preseason Player of the Year:
• Tabby Tindell, FGCU 
• Kaitlyn Bassett, Jacksonville 
• Ellen Lundy, Lipscomb  

Here are the nominees for Preseason Goalkeeper of the Year: 
• Brittany Brown, FGCU 
• Sarah Sierra, Jacksonville 
• Olivia Sturdivant, Kennesaw State
• Anna Buhigas, Lipscomb

The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with eight member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance betwee student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.

Related Links